Contemplating the RPD

Soon I will be a Remetj in the Kemetic Orthodox faith.  Although kemeticism doesn’t encompass my entire practice, it is a very important aspect.  As a Remetj, I will have the opportunity to go through the process of the Rite of Parent Divination (RPD).  This rite is performed by Rev. Tamara Siuda and reveals one’s parent and beloved relationships with Netjeru.  I keep vacillating on whether I want to go through with this.  If you complete the RPD, you have the option to take shemsu vows to those Netjeru and become fully vested in the Kemetic Orthodox faith.  The shemsu vows are not required.  I still don’t know if I will be in the Kemetic Orthodox faith for the long haul.  It is helping me with my practice, and I know that it can help me further.  My Gods are leaving it up to me as to whether or not I want to take the RPD.  It is a tougher decision than I thought it would be.  I do think it might reveal relationships with the Netjeru that might otherwise remain hidden to me.  I’ll have to think on it some more.

Leave a Reply

