I’m Behind

I know I’m behind on my blog posts.  I’ve been slowly acclimating myself to Tumblr, in part to be more involved with the Kemetic community over there.  It is definitely a whirlwind.  I’m learning a lot about what different polytheists think, as well as exploring some unrelated topics which interest me.  My shipment of books on Ancient Egypt came in.  I’ve started reading Egyptian Mythology by Geraldine Pinch.  I’ve barely started How to Read Egyptian Hieroglyphs by Mark Collier and Bill Manley.  My drawing skills are minimal at best, so I need to learn the transliterations of the symbols into letters sooner rather than later.  I’m still trying to draw out the symbols too, but I simply haven’t put much time into it yet.

I spent part of Sunday in a coffee shop reading about Loki, trying to get a better feel for why I am drawn to Him.  Starting out, I didn’t think I would learn much.  I felt that I had already exhausted the online sources.  However, I managed to find some that I had missed and learn more about His different aspects.  In addition, I read some prayers for Him in hopes that it might spark me to rewrite the very basic prayer that I wrote for Him a while ago.  Last night I ad-libbed a prayer to Him instead of reading my usual one, so I think I’m making progress.  Maybe in a few more days I’ll feel ready to write something new.

More information about Hekate has also been crossing my path this weekend.  I don’t know if it’s a signal for attention or simply coincidence.  I should spend some time reflecting on Her, since I’ve been receiving guidance from Her from the start.  The new moon is quickly approaching, so maybe I’ll see if I can arrange something for the 28th or 29th.  Oh.  The 28th is today.  I guess I should arrange it quickly.  I work overnights, but I could do something for Her on the morning of the 29th.  I think the new moons hits around 1:00 AM that morning.  I am usually distracted when the new moon comes around, and I miss it.  It’s a special time for Djehuty, too.  Maybe I can plan something special for Each of Them.  I’ll keep you posted if I do something.  I actually took off my necklace for Sekhmet on Sunday (I had been wearing it for a while) and put on my owl necklace for Hekate instead.  I’m not sure why.  It just felt like it was time.

Hekate continues to stress the fact that I need to make choices.  The push to let go of the old to make way for the new is also constant.  I need to start physically getting rid of some stuff.  I’ve been putting it off for a few months, so She is probably not to happy about that.  I did some cleaning tonight, but I have far to go.

Healing persists in coming up in the cards, though I’m still in the dark as to what that is about.  I’ve had some positive readings of late, which have left me both happy and suspicious.  Plans, transformation, and success are all topics that keep coming up.  I see myself changing internally, but I don’t know how that is going to affect my outer life.  I don’t know how or if it is affecting my relationships with my Gods.  I seem to be going in the right direction generally, so I’m just plugging along.

I have started to tell my friends that I’m a polytheist.  Religion isn’t important to most of them, so the reveals are probably only a big deal to me.  I have yet to talk to the few who might actually care about my change in beliefs.  I am still on the fence about whether or when to tell my parents and my sister.  My brother came to town for a brief stint, talking to him about my religious experiences was as good as always.

My job has been a little frustrating.  I’ve contemplated looking for a new one, but I think I might take some classes online first.  I don’t want to overload myself, though, so I haven’t committed to anything yet.  I should find out about whether I got into the House of Netjer’s intro class the second or third week of May.  The college classes I’m looking at start in June.  May is only a few days away.  I guess I should get to work on learning some hieroglyphs.

For anyone interested in anime, Kamigami no Asobi is a reverse harem anime centered around Gods from different pantheons.  The first four episodes have been released online thus far.  It is about a human girl who must teach certain Gods about humanity.  It is rather silly and cheesy, but I have found it to be addicting.  I’m a sucker for silly anime.  I have begun to ramble, so I’m going to post this now.  Soon it will be time for my offerings and then bed.  Happy Monday. ^_^

Leave a Reply

