Kemetic Orthodoxy, Odin, and Meditation

I am debating whether I should take the intro class to Kemetic Orthodoxy to learn more about Kemeticism and worshiping in general.  I already have Tamara Siuda’s book of prayers.  I have thought about trying senut (a Kemetic Orthodox ritual) on my own, but I haven’t been brave enough to try it yet.  Part of me wants the information and the community, but the other part of my says that I would be moving to fast.  I feel like I’m moving at a snail’s pace, but I keep reminding myself that I haven’t been doing this for very long.  My current nightly devotions didn’t really develop until the beginning of this year, and I didn’t even approach some of my Gods until this year.  Hekate has been very definitive in the past about me not taking on too much and not taking on labels.

. . . Since writing the above, I decided to ask my Gods through tarot readings using two of my decks to see what They currently think about me taking the class.  The next session starts in May.  The answers were clear.  I will get out what I put into it, but the possibilities are unlimited.  I will have the energy to do it in May, though dedication and hard work will be required.  I haven’t made any decisions yet, but I’m leaning towards taking the class.  Taking the class doesn’t mean that I will automatically be Kemetic Orthodox, but I see it as the next step to learning about how to worship the Netjeru.

The fact that I felt the need to ask about Kemetic Orthodoxy after spending a day thinking about Loki and Odin was a little odd.  I have begun to feel that I should make some sort of offering to Odin since I consistently offer to Loki.  I’m not planning on adding Odin to my nightly devotionals, but I still feel that I should offer Him something.  I don’t know if this is a nudge or just my mind trying to cover all of the bases.  For now, it will have to wait until I can get something appropriate to offer Him.  The fact that I find Him extremely intimidating is probably another reason why I’m putting it off.  Either way, I cannot attend to Everyone all at once.  I need to rewrite some of my nightly prayers for my Gods before I add too many other things to my plate.

I also need to dedicate some time to meditation.  I’ve been putting it off.  I asked my Gods if They thought I should be working on it.  I don’t know what I was expecting.  I was hoping They would say it wasn’t a big deal.  Instead, I got a resounding Do This.  I need to commit to doing it regularly.  Quieting my mind is difficult, but I know that I won’t get anywhere without practice.  I just have to work through my stubbornness and procrastination.  My to-do list is growing.  It’s time to stop procrastinating and do things.

Leave a Reply

