F is for Foundations

Lately, it has become apparent to me that I have spent a lot of time comparing myself to those who have spent years building their relationships with their Gods.  Buildings require solid foundations if they are to withstand the tests of time, and relationships are no different.  There is one relationship of which I am proud, and that is my relationship with my husband.  We have been together for 11 years and married for 5.    A solid relationship is like a building, it requires a good foundation.  My relationship with my husband takes continuous work from both of us, and though it is never perfect, it brings us both joy.  Looking at how I have built my marriage, I can use it as a guide to building meaningful relationships with Deities.

Part of the foundation of a relationship for me is working on myself.  The more I face my fears and faults, the more I open myself up to the Gods.  No one is going to achieve perfection, but I can always strive to be better.  This requires both self-work and asking for help.  Sometimes improving oneself is knowing when to ask for aid from others.  A second part of the foundation is learning about the Deity.  This includes research about the culture and myths, talking to others who have relationships with that Deity, and simply trying things to see what works and what doesn’t.  Learning to trust my intuition is a third part of a solid foundation.  It is my relationship, and there are certain parts that only I will be able to judge.  This requires a level of discernment, but that can be learned.  Time is a fourth part of the foundation of any relationship.  It doesn’t happen overnight.  Even people who get “thwapped” have to take time to build a productive rapport with the Deities who contact them.  Time is the hardest part for me.  I’m not a patient person.  I want an end product.  Relationships, however, are constantly changing and growing.  I have to take my time and realize that building a stable foundation for my Deity relationships will make the future that much more rewarding.   Some of the best things in life have taken time to develop.  From what I’ve seen, it’s worth the wait.

Leave a Reply

